PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on ARM powered Macs

ruegen
14th January 2015, 07:08 PM
Personally I prefer a Mac that has power but I work as a programmer, graphic designer & photographer.

However folks like my parents love devices like the iPad & iPhone but occasionally want more like a PC.

Considering that future generations of the ARM chip will improve - the advantages that you would see in an ARM Mac running OS X would include.

iMacs that run cooler with no fans or vents with smaller thin designs. No GPU required as it is a part of the ARM. (aware intel has it integrated).

The same with the MacBook - a new model with an ARM processor could run cooler, no fan, run longer (10 hours) etc.

Having everything run on the chip/RAM, always on like an iPad (does one ever bother to turn them off?), zippy because of the flash memory (although at least 128GB) and having a behaviour like an iPad.

These would be smaller designs rather than say the 2.1inch iMac or 15" MacBook however they would be more affordable, provide all the positives that I stated above and cater to a market that doesn't need the horsepower that regular iMacs provide.

Maybe not this year or the next but eventually.

Oldmacs
14th January 2015, 08:26 PM
Personally I really really hope not, as it will turn the Mac into an underpowered toy. A LOT of work will need to be done to get ARM to Intel performance and we don't need another bloody ship jump. (EG PPC, OSX and Intel). Complete program rewrites will be needed and thats just a nuisance. Also then Intel users will loose the ability to update, as Apple recently has been good with Macs, giving 2007 and 2008 Macs the ability to update, despite the fact they are 6 and 7 years old. Apple dropped updates for PPC 3 years after selling the last one.

Intel is one of the reasons that the Mac has gained so marketshare in the large couple of years especially with PC switchers, and the advantages of switching to ARM just aren't there.