PDA

View Full Version : Mac SE30 Screen Issues



tim
23rd December 2013, 07:18 PM
Hi,

I scored a sorry looking SE30 off ebay for $20 with screen issues and no boot. :^(

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r581/timdamm/SE30_screen_garbage_zpsd84456a1.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/timdamm/media/SE30_screen_garbage_zpsd84456a1.jpg.html)

Pulling the logic board out I quickly found the cause...

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r581/timdamm/IMG_1669_zps9452f644.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/timdamm/media/IMG_1669_zps9452f644.jpg.html)

My new toy made short work of removing and replacing the offending 11 caps.

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r581/timdamm/IMG_1680_zps1d864cd6.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/timdamm/media/IMG_1680_zps1d864cd6.jpg.html)

New tantalum ones in place...

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r581/timdamm/IMG_1678_zps5eb137a4.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/timdamm/media/IMG_1678_zps5eb137a4.jpg.html)

Happy again...

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r581/timdamm/IMG_1681_zpsbf7ffbd9.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/timdamm/media/IMG_1681_zpsbf7ffbd9.jpg.html)


I would have to say that leaking/ faulty capacitors are over 90% of problems with these old Macs.

Wonder how many have been chucked out at the first sign of trouble?

Oldmacs
23rd December 2013, 07:34 PM
I was going to get this one thinking it was caps as well!!! Glad someone got it and fixed it!!

I have two LC IIs, an LC III, an LC 475, a Iici, a PB 100 and a PB 150 with Cap issues.

tim
23rd December 2013, 07:37 PM
The hot air gun makes removing them sooo much easier!

I have done a few now and you do get better the more you do.

If you can get the pads nice and clean the soldering is a lot easier too.

Oldmacs
23rd December 2013, 08:04 PM
I've done 3 caps on my LC III and I had to stop stop there... too scared of stuffing up!