PDA

View Full Version : What OS system to use.

piperjon
11th December 2013, 08:06 AM
Hi Guy's,

Just a question about what Mac OS is better.
I'm new to Mac's and have now a IMAC 21.5" that I have had to change the HD hard drive as it stopped working to a SSD and have the Maverick OS installed now with the update from the APP store that is free. But I have seen that there are others that can be use. I feel that the new update to Maverick OS from 10.6. to 10.8 would be the latest OS. But seeing the others I'm not sure. So what I have now is the right set up for me??
Cheers
John

harryb2448
11th December 2013, 08:25 AM
Mavericks installed is just fine. Mavericks is OS X.9 and the OS X.8 you mention is Mountain Lion. Mavericks is, imho, a faster OS.

Oldmacs
11th December 2013, 02:32 PM
10.8 Mountain Lion for the moment, I've found Mavericks (10.9) very buggy, as it is still a .0 release.

piperjon
11th December 2013, 02:58 PM
Thanks for the info. I found that I lost Launch on the tool bar. Gee you can tell I have been using win PC's.
Is the launch icon part of some software or was it in Lion software.
Thanks
John

CrypticSquared
11th December 2013, 03:27 PM
I was an early adopter from 10.4 - 10.8. Recently got held back from 10.9 (mavericks) due to some missing drivers with my 3rd party audio hardware. They have now been released but I am still holding off for the time being. Keep an eye on the usual suspects of sites like tuaw, appleinsider, macrumors, apple support discussions, 9to5mac, cultofmac, arstechnica.com etc ,etc. Lots of people are replying to the Beta news in comments and starting new discussions about bugs. If none of these bugs apply to you, then by all means, use the latest version.

Oldmacs
11th December 2013, 03:53 PM
Do you mean Launch pad?

This may help

How to recover the Mac Launchpad Icon in 3 Easy Steps - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJzemfksNvo)

piperjon
11th December 2013, 05:12 PM
Hi Oldmacs,