PDA

View Full Version : Centris 650 caps



Oldmacs
6th August 2013, 08:15 PM
Hi All-
I was just inspecting my Centris 650 and noticed that there are no electrolyte caps on the motherboard? Is this normal? They seem to all be tantalums and I know I haven't replaced any and it doesn't look like anyone has replaced them either.

~Oldmacs

LCGuy
6th August 2013, 08:27 PM
Some Macs came stock with tantalums. My Q700 has tantalums - they all did from factory. The 650 may/may not have been the same.

Oldmacs
6th August 2013, 09:10 PM
Thats nice to know :)
0ne Mac I don't have to replace all the caps on :D :D

Byrd
6th August 2013, 09:22 PM
Quadra 9xx is another model without them, the IIfx only has a few as well. Still, tantalum caps aren't bulletproof.

Oldmacs
6th August 2013, 10:00 PM
I know they're not bullet proof but almost every other vintage Mac I have is dead because electrolytes so I'm exited :P