PDA

View Full Version : Posting from a centris 650



Oldmacs
8th October 2012, 07:14 PM
Hi all- I am postinf this to you from a 1993 Centris 650 !!!!!
It is running netscape 3 :D
Thanks to LC GUY- I finally got around to installing open transport and the internet finally works
Pictures will come later

DebB
9th October 2012, 12:21 PM
Awesome! How? I wonder if my SE would do it...?

neoxide
9th October 2012, 12:43 PM
I have an 8100/80av (running 7.5.5) set up with IE4 that has internet connectivity. Not at the moment, since all I have in terms of internet is a wireless modem.

That said, I don't think I've gotten a 68k machine on the net. I might have gotten one my LC475 or Quadra 700 to go, but I can't remember...

bennyling
9th October 2012, 12:46 PM
Pics or it didn't happen ;)

Oldmacs
9th October 2012, 03:48 PM
They are coming.......

Oldmacs
9th October 2012, 03:52 PM
I suppose your SE could do it! - Do you have an ethernet card- I have an ethernet card in my Centris and used a Airport extreme set up to extend the network to connect the machine. I copied the TCP/IP settings from the network settings in Mountain Lion on my Macbook pro.
I found that the only way to have some sort of reasonable experience was at minimum using Netscape 3 and disabling Java- you need 9MB of free RAM just to Run netscape 3. I had a better experience in Netscape 4 web wise, however it was more resource intensive. Most Web pages look completely different to on a new web browser. Despite this I was able to post to this site and Facebook :P

Also make sure to install open transport :)

Oldmacs
9th October 2012, 03:54 PM
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8169/8069766232_3b038a9132.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069766232/)
IMG_1168 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069766232/) by oldmacs (http://www.flickr.com/people/79529975@N02/), on Flickr

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8462/8069769417_57728c0bb9.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069769417/)
IMG_1166 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069769417/) by oldmacs (http://www.flickr.com/people/79529975@N02/), on Flickr

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8457/8069767919_633399a96a.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069767919/)
IMG_1170 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069767919/) by oldmacs (http://www.flickr.com/people/79529975@N02/), on Flickr

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8316/8069763706_958e0af03c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069763706/)
IMG_1164 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/79529975@N02/8069763706/) by oldmacs (http://www.flickr.com/people/79529975@N02/), on Flickr

mjankor
9th October 2012, 05:28 PM
Aiieee. My eyes!!!

Good work though.

Oldmacs
9th October 2012, 08:38 PM
So I challenge anyone else to post to Mac talk on a Mac older than my Centris 650 and show pictures to prove it :D

leon
10th October 2012, 11:32 AM
So I challenge anyone else to post to Mac talk on a Mac older than my Centris 650 and show pictures to prove it :D

Not older than a Centris 650 but prettier.

http://www.mactalk.com.au/9/42546-i-present-mactalks-first-possibly-second-tam-browsing-forums.html

neoxide
10th October 2012, 11:41 AM
I suppose your SE could do it! - Do you have an ethernet card- I have an ethernet card in my Centris and used a Airport extreme set up to extend the network to connect the machine. I copied the TCP/IP settings from the network settings in Mountain Lion on my Macbook pro.
I found that the only way to have some sort of reasonable experience was at minimum using Netscape 3 and disabling Java- you need 9MB of free RAM just to Run netscape 3. I had a better experience in Netscape 4 web wise, however it was more resource intensive. Most Web pages look completely different to on a new web browser. Despite this I was able to post to this site and Facebook :P

Also make sure to install open transport :)

Homework assignment: What's the earliest mac you can run Open Transport on?

And another: Where do you get SE PDS ethernet cards from? (you'd also need a torx screwdriver and possible an AUI adapter, becuase not many of them have 10BaseT capability without one)

neoxide
10th October 2012, 12:41 PM
Just out of curiosity, I looked on eBay for SE PDS ethernet cards - there was one for around $82, and another installed in a michine (in the US) going for over $500 US. These things are getting kinda pricey, but I guess that these people are targeting the legacy support market as opposed to collectors.

If anyone wants to try getting an SE online and needs a card - ask me. If I've got one spare (I'm not sure I do, but I have do lots of junk) then I'll send it to you for postage cost. Viva Hobbyists!

Oldmacs
10th October 2012, 12:49 PM
Open Transport is designed to work on portable and desktop Apple Macintosh or Mac OS compatible computers with a Motorola 68030 or 68040 family microprocessor, or a PowerPC 601, 603(e), or 604 microprocessor.

So it would be the 1988 Macintosh IIx

Orestes
10th October 2012, 02:33 PM
Have you tried running some older versions of iCab? I believe it will render pages a little nicer than Netscape of that era.

68k link iCab - Downloads (http://www.icab.de/download.php?os=68k&lang=en)

Oldmacs
10th October 2012, 04:17 PM
I have tried iCab.... It doesn't start up for some reason- Gives an error number. Internet explorer 4 renders better but is slow as all get out. Netscape seems to run reasonably well!

Orestes
10th October 2012, 08:16 PM
Netscape (Mozilla) always has tended to be a bit more compliant than everything else and more capable, back when ActiveX plugins were all the rage Netscape was the only browser that could deal with it on a Mac. That and it generally sticks to being HTML compliant to the letter rather than breaking things the way IE did particularly back then. The only real reason IE became popular is because it was hard coded into Windows 95b, otherwise Netscape (Firefox) would have taken the market much sooner than what it did. God I feel old now.

LCGuy
11th October 2012, 08:50 PM
Good to hear you finally got it working! Yes...Netscape 4 does render modern websites just a tad better than Netscape 3, given that it supports CSS and Netscape 3 doesn't...at the same time however...its not exactly what you'd call "fast".

As for the browser wars in the mid 1990's...yep, I remember them too. Was a Netscape man all the way to the bitter end. In 2002 I finally went from Netscape 4.8 to Mozilla. Then in 2004 I went from Mozilla to Firefox, which I've used pretty much ever since. Orestes is right, really - if it wasn't for the fact that IE was included with Windows 95B, and then made a major component of the OS in Windows 98, I think Netscape would have won.

Orestes
11th October 2012, 09:07 PM
I always have been a Netscape man and Netscape did win... At least I classify it as a win being a Netscape user when Firefox became more popular than IE. It's swung around a bit now with Chrome and the uptake of mobile devices, but we're getting a little way from the topic.

Oldmacs
11th October 2012, 09:26 PM
We were with netscape up until around 2002 when we went to internet explorer for some reason. Then we went to Safari in 2004 or 5? I remember hating it so much for such a long time- I kept using Internet explorer for a fair time then in 2006ish I tried Safari again and loved it ! I have used a combination of safari and Chrome since. I stopped using Chrome a year or two ago but on my vintage machines I use firefox. I really like firfox but the sleekness of safari now is hard to ignore....

Orestes
11th October 2012, 09:30 PM
Its always been the range of plugins that have kept me on Firefox.

Oldmacs
14th October 2012, 12:47 PM
hmmmmm Wonder if the centris will cope with the new design?

LCGuy
14th October 2012, 09:50 PM
Only one way to find out. :D

Given that Netscape 3 predates, and therefore doesn't recognise CSS, I don't think you'll notice much of a difference.

Oldmacs
8th January 2013, 07:12 PM
Still haven't tried this yet :P Centris is packed away at the moment. Anyone claim to have an older computer then mine online yet?

LCGuy
8th January 2013, 10:06 PM
Some day I'd like to get my original Macintosh online. Just so that I can say I've done it. However the only way I can think of, would be to set up a linux machine which I would dial into (via a null modem cable), and run Lynx on it. Problem with that approach however is that using the Macintosh to run software on a remote machine is like steering a Model T Ford thats being towed by another car at 100 km/h, and then claiming to have done 100 km/h in a stock Model T Ford.

Oldmacs
8th January 2013, 10:30 PM
You need that virtual dial up connection :P

Oldmacs
8th January 2013, 10:31 PM
I'd love to get my 1400CS on the internet as well- Its very annoying not having ethernet :/ I think the solution is a wireless card but I'm not sure if any work under OS 7.6.........

neoxide
8th January 2013, 10:59 PM
I'd love to get my 1400CS on the internet as well- Its very annoying not having ethernet :/ I think the solution is a wireless card but I'm not sure if any work under OS 7.6.........

I'm sure I saw a guide to getting a 1400 running 7.6.1 on the net somewhere, using an Orinoco Gold card. I almost went through with it. The 1400 was borrowed from a friend, and I went through all this trouble putting 7.5.3 on it years ago. Now he wants a HDI-30 adapter and an external SCSI CD drive to put OS 8 on it :P
Neither of my external CD drives (AppleCD 150 and 600e) seem to work, for some reason.

I've been trying this evening to put together a little MIDI sequencer using Trax on a compact mac. I just realised I should try it out on a PB180 or something first to see if I can get the interface working. That was one of my best finds from that trip... an Apple MIDI interface...

Compact mac would look great on stage.

ALSO have you tried hunting down a PCMCIA ethernet card? I'm guessing they are pretty common, I have a couple of them. Then again, stuff like baby AT motherboards are hen's teeth now.

Oldmacs
14th January 2013, 09:36 AM
Oh you can get PCMIA ethernet cards?
I didn't know that :P
That would be a much better solution!

neoxide
15th January 2013, 08:43 AM
Some day I'd like to get my original Macintosh online. Just so that I can say I've done it. However the only way I can think of, would be to set up a linux machine which I would dial into (via a null modem cable), and run Lynx on it. Problem with that approach however is that using the Macintosh to run software on a remote machine is like steering a Model T Ford thats being towed by another car at 100 km/h, and then claiming to have done 100 km/h in a stock Model T Ford.

That's exactly what I was going to do to get my Mac Plus online... I thought it was a flash of brilliance, then realised that it wouldn't really count.