PDA

View Full Version : Ask a stupid question, get a sympathetic answer dept.

Leith
5th September 2012, 06:21 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the wonderful world of Imac and have a question that I fear may sound stupid but here goes.

I am in the process of transferring files from a hard drive (stored photos, docs, image files etc) to my new imac.
Having been used to a PC file system for years, I am unsure of where on the imac I can have these files live. They are currently on the desktop and I want to move them into the mac system somewhere. I want to keep the desktop clean so am after the recommended storage place for files.

Be kind guys..

Cheers,
Leith

icant
5th September 2012, 06:29 PM
To start, you can store them in your home folder. When in Finder, press command-shift-h (your home folder opens). Make a new folder (command-shift-n). Then drag all files into that folder.

Sorted.

Fingers
5th September 2012, 06:42 PM
Unless you are against it for some reason, you could put the photo's into iPhoto...?

if you connect a drive with photo's on it, there is a chance iPhoto will automatically open up and ask if you wan to import....otherwise open iPhoto yourself, click on File, and then import to Library.

As far as miscellaneous doc's, my desktop is quite clean. Just a single folder for each family member, and within that, everyone just organises their own in their own system... so folder within folder within folder, down to appropriate doc's all sorted.

To create a folder, simply click on File from the desktop (top left) and then New Folder.......you should also just be able to drag and drop folders from an external hard drive.

I'd say it may take you a while to learn to drive it, and you may rearrange things as you work out what suits you best, but I'm sure y7ou'l get used to it and appreciate how simple things are to do.

Tony.

corowakid
5th September 2012, 07:06 PM