PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Air (Mid 2012) Thermal Output

iMic
1st September 2012, 04:03 PM
I recently purchased a MacBook Air (Mid 2012) Configure-To-Order with an Intel Core i5-3427U Processor (1.80GHz), 8GB Memory and 512GB Solid State Drive. I'll begin by saying the combination of mobility and performance makes this the single best computer I've ever owned. The enclosure design, mechanical component design and reduced number of parts required also make this an ideal machine for someone like me (I'm an Apple Technician, the fewer parts and failure points, the better). I could not be happier.

What has me curious is that this machine has been able to reach CPU temperatures of 107C before, primarily under heavy combined graphics and processor utilisation. Normally one wouldn't be concerned about this, the hardware is designed to throttle and shut itself down to prevent damage if the specifications are exceeded.

Now, Intel's "TJunction Max" temperature (http://ark.intel.com/products/64903/Intel-Core-i5-3427U-Processor-(3M-Cache-up-to-2_80-GHz)) for this model is 105C. The MacBook Air is exceeding it ever so slightly, and isn't throttling back as the temperature remains consistent. Perhaps the onboard monitors are determining that the computer can handle the situation and is allowing this accordingly (as Intel's Turbo Boost feature is designed to do).

In addition, the drop across the heatsink seems abnormally large. When the computer was operating at 105C at the processor die, the heatsink was reporting a temperature of only 50C, or less than half of the heat at the processor. Even now, at 50C at the core, only 34C is being reported at the heatsink. These temperatures are being reported by iStat Menus 3. I'm not sure if the temperatures are estimates however as I don't believe the MacBook Air heatsink actually contains any electronic temperature sensors, it appears to be a pretty basic pipe and fin-stack arrangement when removed from the system.