PDA

View Full Version : MBA 13 with external display (thunderbolt to VGA adaptor)

kevin7
13th July 2012, 09:54 AM
Hi guys, I got my 2012 MBA 13inch 2 weeks ago, absolutely love its lightness and it's so slim! I upgraded it from 2008 mbp 15 (non-unibody). Oh man, it worth it, it's a very fast machine.

However, I have an issue with the external display, I'm using Samsung 24inch 1920x1200 external lcd. I noticed the display output rendered on the external screen is less pleasing (font is not sharp and inconsistent) comparing it to my old mbp.

Is it due to mba graphic card? im using thunderbolt to vga adaptor (bought a wrong one) to connect my mba to lcd. mbp is using dvi port. Is that the reason why the output doesn't look as good? should I get thunderbolt to hdmi?

I bought this thunderbolt to vga adaptor along with the laptop, it doesn't come with a box, so I wonder if I can return it.

Thanks.

Oldmacs
13th July 2012, 10:24 AM
It may be due to the graphics card, but I'm willing to bet it is the fact that you are using VGA- VGA is not the best connection for clarity. I would highly recommend HDMI or DVI for a better picture.

timwhite15
13th July 2012, 10:58 AM
Sounds to me like you are noticing the difference between an analogue (VGA) and digital connection (DVI). Frankly that old VGA stuff is rubbish at higher resolutions and needed to die years ago. I agree with the other response that says swap your adapter for the DVI one.

Alec Fraser
13th July 2012, 11:03 AM
Definitely go with Thunderbolt to DVI or HDMI! Analogue will always look fuzzy compared to digital, so as timwhite15 said, that's probably what you're noticing.

Oldmacs
13th July 2012, 11:12 AM
This is why I prefer the apple approach to video output on their MacBooks, because many pcs have VGA only which means your stuck, whereas with Apple you can have many different outputs, you just need a dongle. I really don't know why VGA is still around and so relevant!

kyte
15th July 2012, 08:05 AM