PDA

View Full Version : Aperture



Quamen
26th November 2005, 03:49 PM
Apple have posted a link to a program that can tell you if your mac will run Aperture or not. What I'd like to do is get a list of the different hardware types and if Aperture will run on the machine and the reason it will/will not run. There have already been a few people asking questions about Aperture and a few people I know are thinking about upgrading to run it.

So if you mac isn't listed below then grab the Aperture Checker (http://www.apple.com/aperture/binary/Aperture_Checker.dmg) and run it so that everyone can benefit from the list below.


Will Run.

1.67GHz 15" Powerbook G4 with 1GB RAM
15 inch Powerbook 1.25 with 1.5 GB of ram

Powermac G5: Dual 11.8GHz PowerPC G5 | 2GB Ram

Will Not Run.

Too Slow + Video Card not up to scratch:

eMac 1GHz 1GB
MDD DP 867, 1.75GB Ram

Video Card not up to scratch:

12" 1.33 GHz Powerbook with 1.25 GB RAM
12" 1.5GHz Powerbook with 1.25 GB RAM
1.6GHz 17" iMac G5 with 1.25GB Ram
1.2 gHz iBook g4

Too Slow + Video Card not up to scratch + Not enough RAM:

iBook G4 800MHz with 640mb RAM
iMac G3/400 384MB
Mac Mini 1.42 512 RAM

Disko
26th November 2005, 04:02 PM
Will not run: 1.6GHz 17" iMac G5 with 1.25GB Ram - Video card bites ;)

Danamania
26th November 2005, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by Disko@Nov 26 2005, 04:02 PM
Will not run: 1.6GHz 17" iMac G5 with 1.25GB Ram - Video card bites ;)
will not run: iMac G3/400 384MB or eMac 1GHz 1GB. both too slow, with sucky video.

dana

feeze
26th November 2005, 04:12 PM
will not run: iBook G4 800MHz with 640mb RAM. Reason, too slow, crappy video and not enough RAM.

Bugger.

mvjs
26th November 2005, 04:17 PM
Mac Mini 1.42 512 RAM wont run not enough RAM, bad video card and too slow

you need a super computer to run this :)

ppops
26th November 2005, 04:29 PM
Will Run!!!!!! :)

1.67GHz 15" Powerbook G4 with 1GB RAM

neilrobinson
26th November 2005, 04:37 PM
wont run here... MDD in sig. not fast enough processor and the video card department is also lacking...

neil

Tiger
26th November 2005, 04:54 PM
Will not run

Apple 12" Powerbook 1.5GHz PowerPC G4 | 1.25GB DDR SDRAM

Tiger
26th November 2005, 04:57 PM
Will Run

Apple Powermac G5: Dual 11.8GHz PowerPC G5 | 2GB Ram.

Donnie-Darko
26th November 2005, 05:38 PM
Will RUN

15 inch Powerbook 1.25 with 1.5 GB of ram

uncyherb
26th November 2005, 05:47 PM
will not run

1.2 gHz iBook g4 - video card = slug

mind you, I have got motion running on this when it shouldn't. It's like watching molasses, but at least I can do stuff at home without having to go to uni just to change a piece of text...

I wont bother with Aperture yet... my panasonic DMC-FZ20 doesn't have a RAW mode.

Quamen
26th November 2005, 06:27 PM
Updated main post. This is more of a note for myself so I know where I am up to :)

Martyb
26th November 2005, 06:58 PM
Will not Run

Power book 17" 1 Ghz

Video card not good enough[B]

The Architect.mac
26th November 2005, 07:02 PM
will run

17" 1.67 G4 Powerbook - 1GB Ram

gilligan911
26th November 2005, 07:19 PM
Will run:

20" iMac G5 2.0GHz - 1 GB ram - ATI Radeon 9600.

dangelovich
26th November 2005, 07:22 PM
Will run:

Power Mac G5 Dual Processor 2.0GHz - 1.5GB RAM - ATI Radeon 9650 (256MB)

dangelovich
26th November 2005, 07:36 PM
I think this might sum up what will and won't work (at least, according to the Aperture Checker):

MinCPUSpeedG4PowerBook - 1250 (MHz)
MinCPUSpeedG5PowerMac - 1800 (MHz)
MinOSXVersionString - 10.4.3
MinRAM - 1073741824 (1GB)

UnsupportGraphicsCards
NVIDIA GeFroxe FX 5200 Ultra OpenGL Engine
NVIDIA NV34MAP OpenGL Engine

This is from the Requirements.plist file within the App's package.
All the app is doing is checking your machine against this list.
The PowerBook spec checks any laptop, the Power Mac spec checks any desktop.

In other words, all the app is doing is comparing your mac to the Requirements page listed on Apple's Aperture website.

...so as usual, you'll probably be able to force the thing to work on a lesser machine (albeit much slower)