PDA

View Full Version : iPad power issues.

Bigtime
15th September 2011, 01:49 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to this, please bear with me. I bought a new 32 Gb iPad2 Wifi from Dicky smith for the daughter's birthday. She's been using it for a week old now and she's telling me that the ipad turns off when the power level drops below 25%. I'm 300kn away, and going by what she's telling me. Is it a case of something in the settings, or the indicator of a possible fault?

I also bought a 64 Gig model for the missus at the same time., she reports no problems so far.

Any ideas all?

Erwin
15th September 2011, 01:55 PM
Never had this happen to me - is she talking about the automatic sleep setting after a defined time? The only other thing I can think of is that the iPad is new, so the battery percentage is still trying to learn what 0%-100% is...

Bigtime
15th September 2011, 04:06 PM
Never had this happen to me - is she talking about the automatic sleep setting after a defined time? The only other thing I can think of is that the iPad is new, so the battery percentage is still trying to learn what 0%-100% is...

I'll certianly talk to her about the sleep function. If it's anything like conditioning a laptop battery, I'll have to get her to get it to run until it shuts down and recharge it. When in doubt, read the instructions I guess. Mind you, the wife's ipad hasn't had a hiccup yet, though the daughter's ipad has had as much use in the week as the wife's will get in 6 months : ).

Klytia
15th September 2011, 07:37 PM
Bigtime, do the full discharge, then re-charge, just one complete cycle, if it's still giving grief I would do a reset on iTunes and reload everything back on....

Let us know how you go....

Mick

Bigtime
17th September 2011, 07:15 PM
[QUOTE=Klytia;1121980]Bigtime, do the full discharge, then re-charge, just one complete cycle, if it's still giving grief I would do a reset on iTunes and reload everything back on....

Let us know how you go....