PDA

View Full Version : firewire problems

dreamcaster
13th August 2004, 10:21 PM
Hi guys, just got my external drive casing & HDD today. The case can take advantage of either firewire or USB, i've currently got it connected using USB because the ibook won't recognise it when connected using firewire. I had a look in the system information and under "firewire" it has no information available, i'm assuming that info about the ibooks firewire capabilities are meant to be shown there if firewire is working, is there anything im meant to install or setup for firewire?

Geez these macs are wierd, im learning something new everytime I use the ibook though. :D

Thanks for any advice.

tempestas
13th August 2004, 11:44 PM
Don't know if this is much help, but several of the cheaper external cases I have come across that claim USB/firewire compatibility don't actually seem to work that well on PC or Mac using firewire.

I'm no expert but assuming the HDD is formatted correctly and the firewire device is behaving properly then all should be fine. Over to the over experts for more in depth advice...

Currawong
14th August 2004, 11:09 AM
Either the firmware of the chipset needs updating, or the firewire is dead in your machine.

kim jong il
14th August 2004, 05:13 PM
A lot of cheaper external firewire cases use some chipset other than the "oxford chipset" which is known for its reliability, compatability and stability. The cheaper 'chinese' ones are not always %100.