PDA

View Full Version : Issues with traceroutes & iBook (10.4)



timace
5th November 2005, 01:16 PM
Ok, having strange issues with traceroutes and my iBook (1.2GHz 12")
Was happening when I was using 10.3.9, still happening at 10.4.3
This compares traces with my WinXP box, which has no problems with traceroutes.


iDoom:~ timace$ traceroute becc.ath.cx
traceroute to becc.ath.cx (203.102.232.88), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 68.067 ms 8.686 ms 2.061 ms
2 * * *

Tracing route to becc.ath.cx [203.102.232.88]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
2 14 ms 14 ms 12 ms nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au [203.55.231.88]
3 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms Gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au [203.215.0.12]
4 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms GigabitEthernet2-6.chw30.Sydney.telstra.net [139.130.249.53]
5 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms GigabitEthernet1-2.ken17.Sydney.telstra.net [203.50.19.27]
6 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms ozemail11.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.4.186]
7 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms 32.so-2-0-0.XR1.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.217]
8 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms 314.ATM0-0.VR2.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.32.234]
9 101 ms 130 ms 97 ms 88.fip-232.permisdn.ozemail.com.au [203.102.232.88]

Trace complete.


iDoom:~ timace$ traceroute dns.ii.net
traceroute to dns.ii.net (203.0.178.191), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 10.186 ms 2.207 ms 2.050 ms
2 nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au (203.55.231.88) 18.713 ms 14.868 ms 11.830 ms
3 gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au (203.215.0.12) 12.807 ms 14.178 ms 16.280 ms
4 * * *

Tracing route to dns.ii.net [203.0.178.191]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms 3 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
2 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au [203.55.231.88]
3 14 ms 14 ms 17 ms Gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au [203.215.0.12]
4 1798 ms 14 ms 14 ms dns.iinet.net.au [203.0.178.191]


iDoom:~ timace$ traceroute apple.com
traceroute to apple.com (17.254.3.183), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 107.670 ms 18.024 ms 2.099 ms
2 * nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au (203.55.231.88) 19.109 ms 14.975 ms
3 gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au (203.215.0.12) 50.952 ms 25.759 ms 12.374 ms
4 gigabitethernet2-6.chw30.sydney.telstra.net (139.130.249.53) 12.508 ms 12.859 ms 13.567 ms
5 gigabitethernet14-0.chw-core2.sydney.telstra.net (203.50.20.129) 45.698 ms 14.913 ms 12.245 ms
6 10gigabitethernet1-0.oxf-core1.sydney.telstra.net (203.50.6.2) 20.910 ms 41.832 ms 28.184 ms
7 * * *

F:\Documents and Settings\timace>tracert apple.com

Tracing route to apple.com [17.254.3.183]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
2 15 ms 14 ms 14 ms nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au [203.55.231.88]
3 15 ms 14 ms 15 ms Gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au [203.215.0.12]
4 15 ms 16 ms 14 ms GigabitEthernet2-6.chw30.Sydney.telstra.net [139.130.249.53]
5 14 ms 15 ms 14 ms GigabitEthernet14-0.chw-core2.Sydney.telstra.net [203.50.20.129]
6 15 ms 16 ms 14 ms 10GigabitEthernet1-0.oxf-core1.Sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6.2]
7 16 ms 15 ms 14 ms 10GigabitEthernet6-0.syd-core04.Sydney.net.reach.com [203.50.13.34]
8 14 ms 14 ms 15 ms i-5-0.syd-core02.net.reach.com [202.84.144.249]
9 165 ms 162 ms 164 ms i-0-0.wil-core02.net.reach.com [202.84.144.101]
10 682 ms 163 ms 163 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.84.251.166]
11 171 ms 170 ms 169 ms ge-6-21.car3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.68.111.137]
12 186 ms 171 ms 170 ms ae-1-56.bbr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.68.102.161]
13 176 ms 177 ms 175 ms ae-0-0.bbr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [64.159.1.129]
14 173 ms 178 ms 174 ms ae-23-56.car3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.123.173]
15 176 ms 178 ms 178 ms cust-int.level3.net [63.209.15.226]
16 344 ms 176 ms 717 ms border1.ge0-0-bbnet2.sje.pnap.net [66.151.144.68]
17 * * * Request timed out.

--
Pinging I have no trouble with, only tracing. Happens both via Terminal and the Network Utility.
Both PCs are connected wirelessly to my Zyxel ADSL modem/router, and afaik, there's no firewall settings that'd block this kinda thing.
Any ideas? I can't remember the outcome trying the iBook on another connection/with another modem. I probably didn't test it last time.

purana
5th November 2005, 01:23 PM
If traceroute (or tracert on windows) both dont work on your router then its the router. Some routers don't pass traceroute traffic correctly and thus they fail to work at all.

While other routers allow it, I've found this to be the case many times on many different routers.

ie. My old draytek 2600Ge I think from memory wouldn't do traceroutes, and my current Linksys WAG54Gv2 does.

Ask a mate to try traceroutes on his router from a machine he has, and if it works, then take your machine over and test it on his. I bet it works. ie. its not your machine, its your router.

Currawong
5th November 2005, 01:55 PM
Give one of your computers a manual IP address. On your router, forward port 1 to that IP address. Traceroute then to your heart's content :)

timace
5th November 2005, 02:20 PM
Originally posted by Currawong@Nov 5 2005, 01:55 PM
Give one of your computers a manual IP address. On your router, forward port 1 to that IP address. Traceroute then to your heart's content :)
I would, but port forwarding is utterly broken on this router ... tis why I'm getting the new Belkin ADSL2+ VoIP router through iiNet :)
I'll try just assigning it a static IP, and see how that goes.

Edit: Let me rephrase, no issues whatsoever on the Windows box, only the one timeout when getting to apple, but that happens everywhere. The problem (I believe) is on the Mac.

timace
5th November 2005, 05:02 PM
Ok, I turned off my router's firewall altogether, no change at all.

ctd
6th November 2005, 11:08 PM
try traceroute -I host

timace
8th November 2005, 04:05 PM
is that -i or -L ?
it doesn't seem to recognise -L (in lower case)

iDoom:~ timace$ traceroute -l ii.net
Version 1.4a12+Darwin
Usage: traceroute [-dFInrSvx] [-g gateway] [-i iface] [-f first_ttl]
[-m max_ttl] [-p port] [-P proto] [-q nqueries] [-s src_addr]
[-t tos] [-w waittime] [-z pausemsecs] host [packetlen]

timace
22nd December 2005, 01:21 AM
Well, I posted this some time before
I'm having issues with traceroutes just about anywhere on this machine.
It came with 10.3.9, had this problem and upgraded to 10.4.3 with no resolution

examples:
gaz:~ timace$ traceroute dns.ii.net
traceroute to dns.ii.net (203.0.178.191), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 10.1.1.1 (10.1.1.1) 2.224 ms 1.355 ms 44.853 ms
2 nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au (203.55.231.88) 37.450 ms 12.703 ms 36.196 ms
3 * gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au (203.215.0.12) 115.978 ms 188.723 ms
4 * * *

gaz:~ timace$ traceroute becc.ath.cx
traceroute to becc.ath.cx (202.171.180.114), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 10.1.1.1 (10.1.1.1) 3.321 ms 34.601 ms 2.176 ms
2 nexthop.nsw.iinet.net.au (203.55.231.88) 36.071 ms 23.449 ms 17.979 ms
3 gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au (203.215.0.12) 50.971 ms 35.349 ms 31.951 ms
4 as24093.sydney.pipenetworks.com (218.100.2.22) 32.683 ms 13.283 ms *
5 202.171.175.244 (202.171.175.244) 40.551 ms 16.888 ms 13.874 ms
6 202.171.164.180 (202.171.164.180) 36.395 ms 14.012 ms 20.651 ms
7 * * *


other machines on the network have no issues with tracing anywhere...
this happens on dialup, ethernet and wireless. (afaik... using wireless now... i'll confirm the other two in the morning.)
different router tried - no difference

old thread: http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=13648

any ideas? :)

af3556
22nd December 2005, 08:00 AM
Traditional ("UNIX") traceroute uses UDP probes, and expects particular ICMP messages in return (time-exceededs from the routers, and port-unreachable from the end host).

Windows tracert uses ICMP probes (echo, aka "ping").

From your traceroutes, it seems the hop to dns.ii.net after gi2-2.syd-pipe-bdr2.chime.net.au blocks UDP probes (usually UDP destination port 33435, each subsequent packet will be addressed to an incremented port number).

Also, many ISPs prioritise UDP traffic such that you will see greater loss than for TCP packets. i.e. the odd '*' is perfectly normal (this is one of the reasons why traceroute sends three probes each hop).

A "solution": (well, at least to make your Mac behave similarly to your Windows boxes): tell traceroute to use ICMP via the appropriate flag ("-I" = ICMP):



$ /usr/sbin/traceroute -I dns.ii.net



http://www.freesoft.org/CIE/Topics/54.htm has a reasonable explanation of the details.

timace
23rd December 2005, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by af3556@Dec 22 2005, 08:00 AM
A "solution": (well, at least to make your Mac behave similarly to your Windows boxes): tell traceroute to use ICMP via the appropriate flag ("-I" = ICMP):



$ /usr/sbin/traceroute -I dns.ii.net



http://www.freesoft.org/CIE/Topics/54.htm has a reasonable explanation of the details.
af3556: you are a legend. thank you so much for this. makes a lot of sense now :>

-Tim